Are there any Additional Certifications after being a CNA

To become a Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA), you need to attend certified nurse assistant training program from an accredited institute, then appear and pass the certification exam. After clearing the certification exam, you need to obtain the certified nursing aide license in order to work in any medical setting. A nurse aide certification and license are the minimal requirements that an individual needs to fulfill to begin career in the health care industry as a certified nurse aide.

The nursing aides work in varied medical facilities. To work in certain specialized wards or medical facilities, the CNA needs to possess additional certifications. For CNA career advancement, it is vital that you possess a certification to move ahead in your career.

Some of the additional certifications that the certified nursing aides can obtain after being a CNA are as follows:

Dialysis Technician

To become a dialysis technician, you need to complete the CNA-DT training program as per the state nursing rules. After obtaining the certification, you can work in the dialysis units. CNA-DT training programs are offered in Maryland.

HHA (Home Health Aide)

The HHA works in the home health agencies. They perform duties such as changing the dressing of wounds, providing necessary assistance to patients in the home health agencies, applying topical medications, and monitoring and reporting the changes in the patient's health conditions.

GNA (Geriatric Nursing Assistant)

They are specialized in providing required assistance and medical aide to older adults. As the elderly population of the United States is increasing, there is a huge demand for geriatric nursing assistants. After fulfilling the requirements as per the federal or state law and passing the GNA examination, you can work in a comprehensive care facility as a GNA.

CMA (Certified Medicine Aide)

To become a CMA, you need to possess 1 year of work experience as a GNA. You also need to complete a sixty hours of certified medicine aide course. After the successful completion of the training program and passing the certification exam, you can work as a CMA in licensed medical facilities.

The certified nursing aide certification expires after a stipulated period of time as per the state rules. It is vital to get the certification renewed within time. You need to find out whether the additional certifications need to be renewed as per your state regulations.

Gaining additional certification will help you to specialize and work in a specialized department or specialized medical setting. It is vital that you gain all the information about the additional certification programs before opting for them.


Sign in to comment